#594: My boyfriend won’t watch my favorite TV show

“Pressure is the enemy of enjoyment.”
“In my classes, one of the things we try to do is to push past “I liked it”/”I didn’t like it” as reactions to work. What is it? What is it trying to be? Is it good at being that thing? Was that a good thing to try to be in the first place? Did the artist have a specific agenda? How did it play with audiences at the time? Does it play the same way now? What stereotypes does it reinforce/undermine? That can be a very rich place to have a discussion if everyone is on board, but you don’t get there with “How dare you not have seen or not like what I like?” And keep in mind, I’m not talking about writing criticism. Write & critique all you want! There is a lot of work to be done there! I’m not talking about activism. #HashtagAway! I am talking about conversations about media with our peers in our leisure time, where liking the same creative work CAN connect us but shouldn’t HAVE TO.”
^ some of my favorite lines from this capt. awkward response

Captain Awkward

Omar from the Wire, "Indeed." From Wire Inspire, a worthy Tumblr.

Hi Awkwards!

My boyfriend and I have been together for around 2 years. We’re incredibly compatible and this relationship has done a lot for me. I was in a pretty shitty situation before we met, and he’s done so much to encourage me to accomplish the things I want, I feel very lucky.

Basically, there are several shows that I love dearly and want to share with him. He’s done the same for me – He’s a huge fan of Joss Whedon so we are working our way through the Whedonverse. We’ve completed Buffy and Angel and are now on the second season of Dollhouse. The original deal was that I would watch Buffy if he would watch The Wire. 7 seasons later… he’s watched the first episode and wouldn’t continue.

When we first started hanging out I tried to get him to…

View original post 1,822 more words

Leave a Reply

