creating something new

As someone who has a lot of ideas, but low levels of follow-through, you can understand why most of my work on the internet (if you’ve been here since I started my tumblr in 2010) is editing of others’ work, or reblogging/highlighting the work of others.

Putting together my own work when I know a lot of people might read it or important people might read it, legitimately makes my eyeballs sweat.
Mostly because I hate being criticized. I don’t really know anyone who loves being criticized but I have also never made it to the land of “oh criticism makes you a better creator, it helps you grow blah blah blah”. I am still firmly in the camp of “criticism is a blow to my self esteem”

I think it partially may have to do with the lack of projects in my life that give me pure instant gratification,that build up my good feelings and sense of accomplishment without letdown. So now that I am done with grad school, which was the ultimate 2 year criticism of my abilities, and have free time, I am going to try to throw myself into hobbies that give me the kind of boost I’m looking for.
I am going to try my hardest and push myself to generate something new of mine once a week, whether that’s a craft, or a blog post or a video blog, or finishing a book.
I will try to make this an actual pact with myself, and maybe publishing it here will give me that oompff

The Torment of Writing

I wrote this for my school’s blog,( that I am still managing as a temp) and thought it’d be a relevant reblog

Student Life

Op-Ed on The Michigan Daily  This is an Op-Ed I wrote for the Michigan Daily that recently got published. I think the best way to describe it is “Oh she went there”.

As a collective whole, we have all decided that graduation is a time for people to look back on their lives up to this point and their time in school. I’m not arguing against it, but I also am conscious of the fact that endings are usually beginnings, and that most work is an ongoing process that is never done except for when it’s done. (like, ~death~, which- yikes!)  So I thought that this blog would be an appropriate place  to talk about a few things from my time at the School of Public Health.  I have gotten a specialization in Health Communication, worked  for the Media and Communications Office, written for the SPH student blog, written for the PHAST…

View original post 418 more words